The story of capitalism – How shares changed the world

The story of capitalism – How shares changed the world

The exhibition “The story of capitalism” provides you with a thrilling insight into the economic, technological and societal developments that we have witnessed since the invention of the joint stock company in 1602.

You are taken to a walk through the centuries along an illustrated timeline. Illustrations of technical advances, key influential figures and events that have shaped the development of our economy accompany you along with typical securities from each period: from the emergence of the first joint stock companies in the 17th and 18th centuries, over the global spread of the share during the industrial revolution through to the 20th century, at the end of which the "new economy" and the emerging markets of East Asia presented yet another new face of capitalism.

The securities displayed in this section of the exhibition tell not only of the rise of the major companies but also give testimony to ruthless greed and unbridled speculation. Some of the most valuable exhibits in the collection, including several unique items and paper bearing the original signatures of famous commercial pioneers, are displayed here for the first time.

Dutch East India Company (VOC), 1623

Bergbau-Aktien-Gesellschaft Medio-Rhein, 1858

Ford Motor Company of Canada, 1907

Stockton and Darlington Railway, 1830

Gotthard Committee, 1860

Sony Corporation, 1980

Microsoft Corporation, 2003

Geschichte des Kapitalismus – Wie die Aktie die Welt veränderte

Geschichte des Kapitalismus – Wie die Aktie die Welt veränderte

Die Ausstellung «Geschichte des Kapitalismus» zeichnet ein spannendes Bild der wirtschaftlichen, technologischen, aber auch der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung seit der Erfindung der Aktiengesellschaft im Jahr 1602 bis heute.

Eine illustrierte Zeitleiste lädt Sie zu einem Spaziergang durch die Jahrhunderte ein. Entlang der Abbildungen technologischer Errungenschaften, grosser Persönlichkeiten und Ereignisse, die die Wirtschaft massgeblich beeinflusst haben, erwarten Sie typische Wertpapiere aus der jeweiligen Periode: Von den ersten Aktiengesellschaften im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert, über die globale Ausbreitung der Aktie während der Zeit der Industrialisierung bis ins 20. Jahrhundert, an dessen Ende die „New Economy“ und die aufstrebenden Staaten Ostasiens dem Kapitalismus ein wieder neues Gesicht gaben.

Die Wertpapiere in diesem Teil der Ausstellung erzählen nicht nur vom Entstehen grosser Unternehmen sondern auch von rücksichtsloser Gier und ungezügelter Spekulation. Einige der wertvollsten Stücke der Sammlung, darunter etliche Unikate und Papiere mit den Originalunterschriften berühmter Wirtschaftspioniere werden hier erstmals präsentiert.

Niederländische Ost-Indien Gesellschaft (VOC), 1623

Bergbau-Aktien-Gesellschaft Medio-Rhein, 1858

Ford Motor Company of Canada, 1907

Stockton and Darlington Railway, 1830

Gotthard Comité, 1860

Sony Corporation, 1980

Microsoft Corporation, 2003